Government of India declared Central Govt Holidays list in 2019

I have shared the Central Government Holiday list 2018 last year. This year Government of India has issued a notification No. F.No. 12/2/2018-JCA-2 on date 11 July 2018. This official order will be applicable for the all central Government Departments located in Delhi.

There are 14 holidays which are compulsory for the all central Government offices located in Delhi and other states of India. The list of Compulsory Holidays for the year 2019 is shown here.

Sl. No.Holiday NameDateSaka DateDay
1Republic Day26-JanMagha 06Saturday
2Mahavir Jayanti17-AprChaitra 27Wednesday
3Good Friday19-AprChaitra 29Friday
4Buddha Purnima18-MayVaisakha 28Saturday
5Idu'l Fitr05-JunJyaishtha 15Wednesday
6Id-ul-Zuha12-AugSravana 21Monday
7Independence Day15-AugSravana 24Thursday
8Muharram10-SepBhadra 19Tuesday
9Gandhi Jayanti02-OctAsvina 10Wednesday
10Dussehra08-OctAsvina 16Tuesday
11Diwali27-OctKartika 05Sunday
12Milad-un-Nabi10-NovKartika 19Sunday
13Guru Nanak's Jayanti12-NovKartika 21Tuesday
14Christmas Day25-DecPausha 04Wednesday

The above holidays are applicable for all the Public sector Enterprises & Central Govt Departments located all over India. However, the individual state government may have different sets of the list of Holidays for the respective state govt employees.

Apart from the above 14 holidays, 3 more holidays may be compulsorily selected from the following list with consultation with Coordination Committee in the respective state.

government holidays welfare coordination committee to choose from

Points to Remember

If any holiday falls on weekly offs (Saturday & Sunday), no compensatory off will be provided in such cases.

The employee of Central Government and State Government can avail 2 additional holidays from the list of restricted holidays.

The Holidays like Idu’l Fitr, Idu’l Zuha, Id-e-Milad and Muharram which depends on the sighting of Moon, would be declared by the DoPT for the Delhi and respective welfare coordination committee of at the state capitals are powered to alter the date of these holiday on the basis of individual state government decisions.

If any holiday date is altered in a very short span of time, the concerned department may announce the same through P.I.B./T.V./A.I.R. and Newspapers.

In the case of Banks, the final office order will be issued by the Department of Financial Services under the Ministry of Finance.

In the case of respect of Indian Government Offices abroad, the number of holidays would be notified in accordance with office order no. O.M. No.12/5/2002-JCA dated 17th December 2002. These offices will have the option to select 12 holidays of their own only after including in the list three National Holidays and Budha Purnima, Milad-un-Nabi or ld-e-Milad Janamashtami (Vaishnava) and Diwali, in the list of compulsory holidays falling on the day of weekly off.

List of Central Government Holidays in Delhi 2019

Sl. No.Holiday NameDateDay
1Republic Day26-JanSaturday
2Maha Shivaratri04-MarMonday
4Mahavir Jayanti17-AprWednesday
5Good Friday19-AprFriday
6Buddha Purnima18-MaySaturday
7Idu'l Fitr05-JunWednesday
9Independence Day15-AugThursday
12Gandhi Jayanti02-OctWednesday
16Guru Nanak's Jayanti12-NovTuesday
17Christmas Day25-DecWednesday

Restricted Holiday List 2019

Sl.NoHoliday NameDateDay
1New Year's Day1st JanuaryTuesday
2Lohri13th JanuarySunday
3Makar Sankranti14th JanuaryMonday
4Pongal15th JanuaryTuesday
5Basant Panchami/ Sri Panchami10th FebruarySunday
6Guru Ravidas's Birthday19th FebruaryTuesday
7Shivaji Jayanti19th FebruaryTuesday
8Swami Dayananda Sarswati Jayanti1st MarchThursday
9Holika Dahan20th MarchWednesday
10Dolyatra21st MarchThursday
11Hazarat Ali' Birthday21st MarchThursday
12Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava / Ugadi / Cheti Chand6th AprilSaturday
13Ram Navami13th AprilSaturday
14Vaisakhi/Vishu/Mesadi14th AprilSunday
15Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)15th AprilMonday
16Easter Sunday21st AprilSunday
17Guru Rabindranath's Birthday9th MayThursday
18Jamat-Ul-Vida31st MayFriday
19Rath Yatra4th JulyThursday
20Raksha Bandhan15th AugustThursday
21Parsi New Year's Day / Nauraj17th AugustSaturday
22Vinayaka Chaturthi / Ganesh Chaturthi2nd SeptemberMonday
23Onam or Thiru Onam Day11th SeptemberWednesday
24Dussehra (Maha Saptami) (Additional)5th OctoberSaturday
25Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) (Additional)6th OctoberSunday
26Dussehra (Maha Navmi)7th OctoberMonday
27Maharishi Valmiki's Birthday13th OctoberSunday
28Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth)17th OctoberThursday
29Naraka Chaturdasi27th OctoberSunday
30Govardhan Puja28th OctoberMonday
31Bhai Duj29th OctoberTuesday
32Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)2nd NovemberSaturday
33Guru Teg Bahadur's Martyrdom Day24th NovemberSunday
34Christmas Eve24th DecemberTuesday

Leave a Comment